Interview with Grace from Grace Notes.

Abby Rose: Can you tell us a little about yourself?

Grace: Sure!  My name is Grace, and I’m a teenage daughter of the King of Kings. My greatest passion is music; stop by my house on any given day and you may be serenaded to the front door by the sweet (well, not always) strains of piano music.  I also enjoy blogging and writing, lettering, photography, and spending time with my crazy clan of siblings (we outnumber the Brady Bunch!). Some of my favorite things include the beach, denim skirts, and ice cream!

Abby Rose: How has God shown Himself faithful in your life?

Grace: I love this question! When I was 6, I was diagnosed with cancer. It was a rough time for our family; my dad’s business went through some rough changes and my mom was trying to take care of 5 kids all under the age of 10 (one which was a nursing infant that didn’t sleep through the night yet).  We had about 3 close friends.  But God showed Himself faithful time and time again.  During one of my hospital stays, I remember someone asking me, “Has God been good to you?”  And wow.  I still remember that to this day!  Circumstances were dire and life was hard… BUT GOD.  He was good and faithful.  He has promised that all things work together for good for them that love Him (Romans 8:28), and that truly was the case.  Almost ten years later, I’m still here, and I’m healthy.  God is faithful!

Abby Rose: What are some practical ways to show kindness to those around us?

Grace: Let’s begin with a battle plan!  I would challenge you to do three things.  First, pray.  Pray that God would fill your heart with loving kindness and give you a burden for serving others.  Service is a beautiful way of showing kindness!  I like to pray, “Lord, turn me into a professional feet-washer!”  Second, memorize James 4:17.  When I’m tempted to pass up an opportunity to do good for others, this verse convicts me.  Third, view every situation with the mindset, “How can I best glorify God here?”

There are numerous ways to show kindness to those around us.  I know you’ve heard it before… but just smile! 🙂  I made a friend once, just because she turned around and smiled at me even when she didn’t know me.  Use physical touch in a careful way; a soft touch on the shoulder, a hug, a warm handshake, a high-five (obviously use different actions for different people).  Go up and introduce yourself to people, even if you’re shy.  Take an interest in the interests of others.  At home, look around your house to see how you can show kindness to your parents and siblings.  Hold the toddler in your lap and read to them.  Help a sibling clean their room.  Offer to make dinner.  Give little gifts as you are able.  Try to cover all the bases of the 5 Love Languages.

My oldest brothers and I get along well, and they have shown me some of the sweetest examples of kindness!  Some of the things they’ve done for me include taking me out for sibling dates, coming to all my recitals, singing in the car with me, giving me a hug when they’re proud of me, making comments to their friends about “When GRACE gets a boyfriend, they’re gonna have to go through me first…” *smiles!*, holding my hand on a rollercoaster when I panic, and so much more.  I am so incredibly blessed by their kindness.  Girls, never underestimate the power of loving kindness!

Abby Rose: Verses that encourage you in hard times?

Grace:

Psalm 23:1 – “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.”

1 John 1:9 – “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

Psalm 46:1-2, 10-11 – “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.  Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea;  Be still and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth.  The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge.  Selah.

Philippians 1:23-25 – “For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ, which is far better: Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you.  And having this confidence, I know that I shall abide and continue with you all for your furtherance and joy of faith;”

Abby Rose: How do you strive to use your talents to glorify God in your life, right now?

Grace: God has given me so many opportunities to minister and use my musical abilities for His glory, for which I am so thankful.  I am trying my best to make the most of them, even when I’m scared or overwhelmed about it.  So much of my musical journey has just been saying YES and doing it afraid.  I play piano often for my church by accompanying small groups and congregational singing, as well as by playing offertories.  I played flute in our church orchestra for a while before joining choir, and I’ve done more with singing this past year.  I also enjoy working with the children’s choir.  Outside of church ministry, I have a YouTube channel, play for nursing homes, teach my siblings piano, write music, and continue to practice and take regular lessons for myself in piano.

Another passion of mine is coming alongside and encouraging other young ladies in their walk with God.  Writing is another love God has given me, so I’ve sought to combine these two passions through my blogging.  I absolutely love to blog and interact with other young ladies in that way!  I also have a few younger girls I have sought to mentor and spur on in the Lord, even in just writing them letters.  I am praying about becoming more proactive in mentorship in the future.

Abby Rose: What is your favorite color and season?

Grace: I love all shades of blue, but particularly a sea-breeze/aqua blue.  Anything that reminds me of the ocean. 🙂  My favorite season is autumn!

Thank you for joining me at the blog today Grace!

Thank you so much for interviewing me here on your blog, Abby! You are a blessing! ❤

I hope you are all as encouraged by Grace as I was! Go follow her blog over at Grace Notes.

ABOUT GRACE:

Grace is a teenage red-head with a passion for music and encouraging others in the Lord.  She blogs frequently over at Grace Notes, where she writes about topics covering everything from spiritual growth to posts full of lifestyle fun.  Her prayer for you is 1st Corinthians 15:58.

4 thoughts on “Interview with Grace from Grace Notes.

Leave a comment