Set Apart 

To the girl who gets left behind. The one who isn’t invited to the popular kids parties. The one who is publicly humiliated constantly. The one who is bullied, made fun of, talked about behind their back. To the one who feels alone & secluded…. that is not your identity. 

For years, I’ve known rejection. I never sat with the popular kids & whenever I did, they got up & moved away. I spent many youth services sitting alone. Not even staff members chose to sit by me. 

For so long, I let my rejection define who I was. 

You’re rejected, so obviously you’re not cool enough, you’re ugly, too fat, talk too much or too little… I piled things in my head… stacks of papers filled with reasons I wasn’t enough… enough.. enough…. the words echoed in my head. 

I want to fit in. To feel accepted. To be loved. To be known. To be approved. To be remembered. 

If you are the girl who feels this way, let’s take a seat & chat for a while… because I want you to know you’re not alone. Your struggle is REAL but guess what?!? We also serve a super REAL God who cares about you. He loves you more than any person ever could. & He has a plan for your life…. so intricate & detailed you could never imagine it fully. 

I want you to know, you ARE… 

  • loved beyond conditions (Romans 8:38-39) (Romans 5:8) 
  • approved by God 
  • not forgotten 
  • set apart 
  • designed for a purpose & plan (Jeremiah 1:5; Jeremiah 29:11) 

But there’s always a question that plagues our minds & thoughts… WHY am I left out & why AM I alone? I never grasped this truth until I read ‘Uninvited’ by Lisa Teurkurst. One of the quotes in her book says, “You are not set aside, you are set apart.” 

This was portrayed in my life, just recently. I came to the insane realization that BECAUSE I am set apart, I have a beautiful opportunity to make a difference. BECAUSE I am set apart, I can sit with the girl who struggles with depression & speak joy into her situation. BECAUSE I am set apart, I can develop character qualities by loving others, even if they are unkind to me. BECAUSE I am set apart, I can live boldly & unashamed proclaiming God’s name. BECAUSE I am set apart, people will notice me… and when they look our way… they can see Jesus.! I think this is such a blessed opportunity to be a world changer…. 

So to the set apart girl… you CAN make a difference. Hold your head up high & smile in genuine joy… because people can see Jesus shine through you. You are set apart, not set aside. & you are loved infinitely, designed perfectly & set apart for a purpose. 




3 thoughts on “Set Apart 

Leave a Reply

