Social Media: Hindering or Helping? 


Comparison. It was something I struggled with for quite a while on my Instagram page. I would constantly compare my posts to that “perfect” page & try my best to make it that way. Guess what? I failed. Always. I was NEVER content with who I was…. I was too busy comparing myself to someone I would never be. After talking to my mom about deleting my Instagram, she encouraged me not to. Why? Her response was, “your posts encourage people. Don’t delete it, just don’t make it an idol.” 
After many months of the continuous cycle of posting, deleting, posting, deleting…. I finally found freedom.

When I learned who I was in Christ, I no longer had to compare myself to others. 

I found freedom, the moment I knew who I was…. I wasn’t “that girl.” I wasn’t “perfect.” I was original. One of a kind. 

If you are like I once was & deciding in your heart whether or not to delete social media…. here are three points I evaluated my decision through. 
(1.) Are you using your social media to impress people.. or encourage people? 

Are you posting to get “that guy” to notice you… or to see if you can get over 50 or 200 likes? Or rather, are you posting because you have something you want to share with others? A scripture, a message or even just to share something beautiful God did in your life? No, not every single post has to be a long encouraging post (although those are the best!;)), but our intentions should never be to draw attention to ourselves, but to God. 

(2.) Has social media become an idol? 

If you spend more time in the worlds media than in God’s media (God’s word)… . if you spend more time thinking about your next Instagram post than about what God is calling you to do on a day to day basis…. if you talk more to people on social media than you talk to God….if you spend more time checking your feed than serving those around you… social media has become an idol. 

Idols prevent us from doing what God has called us to do… love HIM with everything & put Him absolutely first. We cannot do what God has called us to do, when idols hinder us from running our race with endurance & keeping our eyes on the real goal. 

(3.) Is this hindering or helping your walk with God? If you are viewing innapropriate pictures through social media, delete it. If you are cussing & commenting unkind things, stop it. If you are having trouble unfollowing impure accounts or sites…. delete it. 

Matthew 5:29-30 {{ And if thy right eye offend thee, pluck it out, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not that thy whole body should be cast into hell. And if thy right hand offend thee, cut if off, and cast it from thee: for it is profitable for thee that one of thy members should perish, and not that thy whole body should be cast into hell. }} 

Get rid of anything that will cause you to be impure or unholy. You cannot grow in God… if you are living in d a r k n e s s. 

In the end the decision & choice is all truly up to you. You must evaluate why you would consider deleting social media & evaluate what affect it would make on your life. If it is keeping you from serving God fully, I would definitely reccomend deleting it, or taking a break for a while to see the affects. 

I love you all & pray you have a blessed day!!! 

2 thoughts on “Social Media: Hindering or Helping? 

Leave a Reply

