Mountaintops & Valleys


I stood on the edge of the peak, looking at the beautiful things that were down below. 

“Look at how beautiful our God is…” 

“He is so creative!” 

“Everything here has purpose and meaning and God has left his fingerprints on it…” 

“His glory is seen through the beauty of this.” 

But just as I become comfortable on the mountaintop, God leads me into a darker, more uncomfortable place. 

“God I don’t want to go here…” 

“God I don’t want this pain…” 

“God please take this situation away.” 

God whispers, “Trust me, daughter. Just trust. I have purpose in the pain.” 

I look up and here I am in the valley. 

The mountaintop, oh it was so divinely beautiful! It was perfect. I KNEW I had purpose. 

But in the valley…. I doubted. I feared. I worried. I denied. 

There can’t be purpose in this. 

“Trust me, daughter. Just trust. I have purpose in the pain.” 

And he did. 

He had purpose when my best friend betrayed me. 

He had purpose when I was bullied for my love for Christ. 

He had purpose when I was told I was fat and when the enemy whispered lies to me. 

He had purpose… even when I doubted he did. 

Because God’s that awesome. 

And there is purpose in your situation, too beloved brothers and sisters in Jesus. 

He has not left you or forsaken you, he is WITH YOU! 

{ Psalm 23 } EVEN when I walk through the valley of the shadow of death… I will fear NO evil, for you are with me. 

2 thoughts on “Mountaintops & Valleys

Leave a Reply

