Compliments & Criticism

As Christian women, we will be approached with both criticism & compliments. We must take both with grace & kindness.

{{ ” It takes both rain & shine to make a plant grow. ” }}

This is one of my favorite quotes because of its beauty & truth. We cannot mature & grow in the Lord if we only accept or are kind to the people who are kind to us. We must learn to be kind to even the meanest of people. God doesn’t choose to love only the “good” people or the people who follow him, he loves every single person. Even the ones who deny he is real.

Oftentimes people will say rude or unnecessary comments to make themselves feel or look better. Lately I’ve had a friend who has been saying comments toward me that hurt me. I didn’t understand this for a while so I began praying. I began seeing things in God’s eyes instead of my own. Instead of coming back at her with an ugly comment as well, God showed me that the Godly response was to encourage her. We often don’t see the reasons behind criticism, but Jesus does. He knows exactly the way my friend was feeling that day. & maybe he placed me in her life that exact moment to love her & show her someone cares. God has been teaching me lately about taking compliments & criticism with grace & love. HIS grace & love. Without God’s grace & love for me, I wouldn’t be able to love others in return.

So thank you Jesus for your grace & love. Thank you for still loving me even when I doubt you & who you are. Help me to love others & accept them like you would, even if they criticize me. Help me to see from your eyes, not just from my own.
In Jesus name, Amen

Galatians 5:15 ” But if ye bite and devour one another, take heed that ye be not consumed one of another ”

Proverbs 15:1 ” A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger. ”

~ Rose

Leave a Reply

