BeYOUtiful

Today I will be sharing a guest post by my beautiful and sweet friend, Des!! She has such a beautiful heart for God and I’m so excited to share this post with you! 
Beautiful is a word us girls know all too well. It’s a word with a big impact to most. It’s a word you often feel like you have to try to live up to, isn’t it? Be honest with yourself… You put effort into trying to look beautiful to the point it sometimes drives you crazy or can easily put you in a bad mood when your outfit, face or hair just isn’t turning out to look the way you want it to. Everything around you is telling you to try to be even more beautiful then you already are. Celebrities and even friends make you doubt your own beauty. You try to keep up with the latest fashion, hairstyles & trends so you can be as pretty as everyone else. You stress yourself out wondering if people are going to like the way you look. You spend extra time in front of the mirror staring at yourself asking “what can I do to make myself pretty?”
Now I’m not saying I don’t do it either because trust me, I do. I look in my closet for the longest trying to decide what to wear and my hair has to look great before I go anywhere. But, I’ve learned to do that for myself, not others. I do it because it’s fun, not so I can make myself prettier.
Because that is FAR from what makes you beautiful!

No, what makes someone beautiful is what’s on the inside. True beauty is found when you stop worrying about your outward appearance and start letting your personality shine through. As for me, it’s smiling at someone just because or showing kindness to others. It’s having a good attitude even on the bad days and always finding something to be happy about. It’s the way I get excited over little things that seem pointless to everyone else. It’s the way I laugh way too much when I’m with my friends. That is what makes me beautiful. So, what about you? Think about it while reading these verses:

Song of Solomon‬ ‭4:7‬ ‭
“You are altogether beautiful, my darling; there is no flaw in you.”

1 Peter‬ ‭3:3-4‬ ‭
“Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”
‭‭
God plainly states that what makes you beautiful is what’s on the inside. You are flawless because you are HIS special creation. He made you perfect in EVERY SINGLE WAY.

•You are treasured, You are sacred, You are His. You’re beautiful•
-MercyMe

So {beYOUtiful}. Because you are so much more beautiful when you stop trying to just look pretty, but actually believing that you are & letting the beauty of the inside shine through.

~ Des

Leave a Reply

