To The Imperfect Girl

image   We as Christians often set a perfect standard for ourselves. We believe that we must be perfect to be a good Christian. I know so many times in my life I’ve felt like a failure because I wasn’t living up to the guideline I had set for myself. I wanted to be pure & kind. I wanted to have a gentle spirit. I wanted to love the Lord with my whole being. I wanted to serve daily. I wanted to be an encourager & an uplifter. But the truth was, I wasn’t. All these things I wanted to be, I failed at. Sometimes I wasn’t kind. Or patient. Sometimes I didn’t volunteer to help someone I could have helped. Sometimes I yelled or got mad. But looking back on it now, it’s all so clear. All the times I wanted to be perfect & thought I would never be a “good Christian”. That I could never live up to the standard I had set for myself… but in it all, Jesus was standing there with open arms saying ,” THIS IS GRACE. This is why I died for you. To help you, guide you & lead you AWAY from sin. To FORGIVE you.”

If we were perfect there would be no reason for grace. We would never sin or do wrong. Jesus would have had no reason to die on the cross. But there was a reason. A very big reason. When you’re sinking in sin, trust & follow Jesus, he will help you walk on the water.

So to the imperfect girl:

You will fail.

You will fall.

You will give up.

You will sin.

You might even go down a wrong path.

But you have a savior who’s already won the fight for you. He’s there with open arms calling you to him. He has covered you in grace & love. When you follow Christ, you are no longer a servant of sin. So stop setting a perfect guideline for yourself. Take one step at a time out of sin. Choose daily to follow Jesus & turn your back on evil. That’s how you win the fight & become the woman God has called you to be.

Ephesians 6:11-13

11 Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.
12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.
13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

1 Peter 1:14-16
14 As obedient children, not fashioning yourselves according to the former lusts in your ignorance:
15 But as he which hath called you is holy, so be ye holy in all manner of conversation;
16 Because it is written, Be ye holy; for I am holy.

~ Rose

Leave a Reply

